Irving Ezra Segal


Ph.D. Yale University 1940 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Ring Properties of Certain Classes of Functions

Advisor: C. Einar (Carl) Hille

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Dye, Jr., HenryThe University of Chicago195091
Singer, IsadoreThe University of Chicago1950171
Cook, JosephThe University of Chicago1951
Michael, ErnestThe University of Chicago195122
Griffin, Jr., ErnestThe University of Chicago19521
Feldman, JacobThe University of Chicago195457
Kostant, BertramThe University of Chicago1954185
Dubins, LesterThe University of Chicago195543
Nelson, J. EdwardThe University of Chicago1955172
Abrahamson, BrianThe University of Chicago19577
Blattner, RobertThe University of Chicago19579
Kunze, RayThe University of Chicago195770
Stinespring, W. ForrestThe University of Chicago19572
Gross, LeonardThe University of Chicago1958179
Shale, DavidThe University of Chicago1960
Strauss, WalterMassachusetts Institute of Technology196291
Goodman, RoeMassachusetts Institute of Technology196319
Hackman, M. MatthewMassachusetts Institute of Technology1963
Brodsky, A. RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology1965
Chadam, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology19655
Lavine, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology196515
Chaiken, JanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Kallman, RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology196813
Weinless, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1968
Lennon, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Lieberman, ArthurMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970
Poulsen, NielsMassachusetts Institute of Technology197030
Schonbek, TomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology19702
Klein, AbelMassachusetts Institute of Technology19716
Berman, StephenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Robbins, StevenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Lee, EdmundMassachusetts Institute of Technology1975
Jakobsen, HansMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
├śrsted, BentMassachusetts Institute of Technology1976
Branson, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology19794
Kon, MarkMassachusetts Institute of Technology19806
Paneitz, StephenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1980
Niederman, DerrickMassachusetts Institute of Technology1981
Baez, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology198613
Pedersen, JanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991

According to our current on-line database, Irving Segal has 40 students and 1253 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6386 for the advisor ID.