Bertram Kostant


Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1954 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Representations of a Lie Algebra and its Enveloping Algebra on Hilbert Space

Advisor: Irving Ezra Segal

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Alexander AstashkevichMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
Marjorie BatchelorMassachusetts Institute of Technology1978
Witold BiedrzyckiMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Allan CooperMassachusetts Institute of Technology1975
Samuel EvensMassachusetts Institute of Technology19882
David GayDartmouth College19661
Robert Kilmoyer, Jr.Massachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Donald KingMassachusetts Institute of Technology19791
Philip KochMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970
Leonid KorogodskyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
Boris KupershmidtMassachusetts Institute of Technology19791
James LepowskyMassachusetts Institute of Technology197034
Thomas LynchMassachusetts Institute of Technology1979
Alfred MagnusMassachusetts Institute of Technology1977
Arlie PettersMassachusetts Institute of Technology19912
Stephen RallisMassachusetts Institute of Technology19689
Mark SepanskiMassachusetts Institute of Technology19941
James SimonsUniversity of California, Berkeley196239
Birgit SpehMassachusetts Institute of Technology19774
Moss SweedlerMassachusetts Institute of Technology19656
David Vogan, Jr.Massachusetts Institute of Technology197647

According to our current on-line database, Bertram Kostant has 21 students and 168 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6442 for the advisor ID.