Gian-Carlo Rota

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. Yale University 1956 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Extension Theory of Differential Operators

Advisor: Jacob Theodore (Jack) Schwartz

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Billik, MartinMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Blair, AlanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Brylawski, ThomasDartmouth College197040
Chan, WendyMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
Chen, WilliamMassachusetts Institute of Technology199115
Cohen, DanielHarvard University1975
Crapo, HenryMassachusetts Institute of Technology19646
de Braganca, SergioMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Doohovskoy, AlexanderMassachusetts Institute of Technology
Doubilet, PeterMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Duren, PeterMassachusetts Institute of Technology196033
Ehrenborg, RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology19937
Feinberg, RobertUniversity of Wisconsin-Madison1974
Fisk, StephenHarvard University1972
Freeman, JohnMassachusetts Institute of Technology1963
Grossberg, StephenThe Rockefeller University19673
Haiman, MarkMassachusetts Institute of Technology198437
Hawrylycz, MichaelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Helgason, ThorkellMassachusetts Institute of Technology1971
Holladay, KennethMassachusetts Institute of Technology19751
Huang, RosaMassachusetts Institute of Technology1990
Klain, DanielMassachusetts Institute of Technology1994
Kung, JosephMassachusetts Institute of Technology19787
Lange, KennethMassachusetts Institute of Technology197187
Lindstrom, ShaneMassachusetts Institute of Technology1990
Loeb, DanielMassachusetts Institute of Technology1989
Losonczy, JozsefMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996
Mainetti, MatteoMassachusetts Institute of Technology1998
McCabe, RobertBoston University1971
Metas, NickMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
Mondshein, LeeHarvard University1972
Moroney Jr., RichardMassachusetts Institute of Technology1961
Nava Zambrano, OscarMassachusetts Institute of Technology1986
Nguyen, HienMassachusetts Institute of Technology19752
Oliveira, JosephMassachusetts Institute of Technology1993
O'Neil, PatrickThe Rockefeller University19691
Schmitt, WilliamMassachusetts Institute of Technology19863
Senato, DomenicoUniversità degli Studi di Napoli Federico II19882
Stanley, RichardHarvard University1971314
Starr, NortonMassachusetts Institute of Technology1964
Stein, JoelHarvard University1980
Tanny, StephenMassachusetts Institute of Technology1973
Taylor, BrianMassachusetts Institute of Technology1997
Wheeler, II, ErlanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1992
White, NeilHarvard University19723
Whiteley, WalterMassachusetts Institute of Technology19715
Yan, CatherineMassachusetts Institute of Technology19978
Yang, JuliaMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Zhuang, ShunhuangMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991

According to our current on-line database, Gian-Carlo Rota has 49 students and 622 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 7721 for the advisor ID.