Bertram Kostant


Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1954 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Representations of a Lie Algebra and its Enveloping Algebra on Hilbert Space

Advisor: Irving Ezra Segal

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Simons, JamesUniversity of California, Berkeley196256
Sweedler, MossMassachusetts Institute of Technology19656
Gay, DavidDartmouth College19661
Rallis, StephenMassachusetts Institute of Technology196818
Kilmoyer, Jr., RobertMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
Koch, PhilipMassachusetts Institute of Technology1970
Lepowsky, JamesMassachusetts Institute of Technology197045
Cooper, AllanMassachusetts Institute of Technology1975
Vogan, Jr., DavidMassachusetts Institute of Technology197680
Magnus, AlfredMassachusetts Institute of Technology1977
Speh, BirgitMassachusetts Institute of Technology19774
Batchelor, MarjorieMassachusetts Institute of Technology1978
King, DonaldMassachusetts Institute of Technology19792
Kupershmidt, BorisMassachusetts Institute of Technology19791
Lynch, ThomasMassachusetts Institute of Technology1979
Evens, SamuelMassachusetts Institute of Technology19883
Biedrzycki, WitoldMassachusetts Institute of Technology1991
Petters, ArlieMassachusetts Institute of Technology19912
Sepanski, MarkMassachusetts Institute of Technology19941
Astashkevich, AlexanderMassachusetts Institute of Technology1995
Korogodsky, LeonidMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996

According to our current on-line database, Bertram Kostant has 21 students and 240 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6442 for the advisor ID.