Louis Nirenberg

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. New York University 1949 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Determination of a Closed Convex Surface Having Given Line Elements
Mathematics Subject Classification: 52—Convex and discrete geometry

Advisor: James Johnston Stoker

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Beckman, FrankColumbia University1965
Bein, DonaldNew York University1964
Birindelli, IsabeauNew York University19921
Burke, KennethNew York University1969
Cabré, XavierNew York University199415
Ching, Chin-HungNew York University1971
Chou (Tso), Kai Seng (Kaising)New York University19838
Craig, WalterNew York University198117
David, FlorinNew York University1984
de Figueiredo, DjairoNew York University1961106
Gilkey, PeterHarvard University19728
Goldstein, RonaldNew York University19701
Gopalkrishna, VenuNew York University1970
Han, Zheng-chaoNew York University1989
Hoitsma, DavidNew York University1973
Ize, JorgeNew York University19741
Kahane, CharlesNew York University19631
Kalka, MorrisNew York University19752
Kann, EdgarNew York University1960
Karp, LeonNew York University19761
Kerzman, NorbertoNew York University197058
Klainerman, SergiuNew York University197876
Korman, PhilipNew York University19811
Koutroufiotis, DimitriNew York University1969
Li, CongmingNew York University19896
Li, YanyanNew York University198839
Liban, EricNew York University1957
Lin, Chang-shouNew York University1983
Littman, WalterNew York University195626
Michalek, RaymondNew York University1986
Newlander, AugustNew York University1957
Ni, Wei-MingNew York University197995
Padilla-Longoria, PabloNew York University19932
Perera, KanishkaNew York University19971
Peyser, GideonNew York University1957
Ramalho, RobertoNew York University1968
Schechter, MartinNew York University195714
Strauss, MontyNew York University1971
Sylvester, JohnNew York University19802
Tarantello, GabriellaNew York University1986
Tavantzis, JohnNew York University1976
Tehrani, HosseinNew York University19945
Vinacua, AlvaroNew York University1986
Zeman, MarvinNew York University1974
Zhou, ZhengfangNew York University198615
Zuckerman, PaulNew York University1968

According to our current on-line database, Louis Nirenberg has 46 students and 545 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13410 for the advisor ID.