Linus Carl Pauling


Ph.D. California Institute of Technology 1925 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Determination with X-Rays of the Structures of Crystals
Mathematics Subject Classification: 82—Statistical mechanics, structure of matter

Advisor 1: Roscoe Gilkey Dickinson
Advisor 2: Richard Chace Tolman

Click here to see the students ordered by family name.

Sturdivant, JamesCalifornia Institute of Technology1930
Hoard, J. LynnCalifornia Institute of Technology19321
Brockway, LawrenceCalifornia Institute of Technology19332
Wilson, Jr., EdgarCalifornia Institute of Technology193328
Beach, JohnCalifornia Institute of Technology1936
Harker, DavidCalifornia Institute of Technology1936
McCullough, JamesCalifornia Institute of Technology1936
Lassettre, EdwinCalifornia Institute of Technology1938
Rogers, MaxCalifornia Institute of Technology1941
Rundle, RobertCalifornia Institute of Technology1941
Lipscomb, Jr., WilliamCalifornia Institute of Technology194634
Pardee, ArthurCalifornia Institute of Technology1947
Shoemaker, DavidCalifornia Institute of Technology1947
Feigen, GeorgeCalifornia Institute of Technology1948
Mislow, KurtCalifornia Institute of Technology19489
Lerman, LeonardCalifornia Institute of Technology1949
Vaughan, PhillipCalifornia Institute of Technology1949
Itano, HarveyCalifornia Institute of Technology1950
Tang, YouqiCalifornia Institute of Technology1950
Karplus, MartinCalifornia Institute of Technology195459
Kraut, JosephCalifornia Institute of Technology1954
Felsenfeld, GaryCalifornia Institute of Technology1955
Kamb, WalterCalifornia Institute of Technology1956
Meselson, MatthewCalifornia Institute of Technology19573

According to our current on-line database, Linus Pauling has 24 students and 160 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 113591 for the advisor ID.