Herbert Busemann


Dr. phil. Georg-August-Universität Göttingen 1931 Germany
Dissertation: Über die Geometrien, in denen die "Kreise mit unendlichem Radius" die kürzesten Linien sind
Mathematics Subject Classification: 01—History and biography

Advisor: Richard Courant

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

John BeemUniversity of Southern California19689
Russell BensonUniversity of Southern California1962
John FeatherstoneUniversity of Southern California1970
Donald Glassco, IIUniversity of Southern California1971
George LewisUniversity of Southern California1970
Flemming PedersenUniversity of Southern California1952
Clinton PettyUniversity of Southern California19521
Bhalchandra PhadkeUniversity of Southern California1970
János SzentheHungarian Academy of Sciences1967
Peter WooUniversity of Southern California1968
Eugene ZaustinskyUniversity of Southern California1957

According to our current on-line database, Herbert Busemann has 11 students and 21 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 9732 for the advisor ID.