Edward James McShane

Biography MathSciNet

Ph.D. The University of Chicago 1930 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Semi-Continuity in the Calculus of Variations, and Absolute Minima for Isoperimetric Problems

Advisor 1: Gilbert Ames Bliss
Advisor 2: Lawrence Murray Graves

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Samuel ColemanUniversity of Virginia19603
Victor KleeUniversity of Virginia1949166
Allan KrallUniversity of Virginia196314
Sidney LawrenceUniversity of Virginia1964
David LowdenslagerUniversity of Virginia1956
Billy PettisUniversity of Virginia1937172
Barbara RiceUniversity of Virginia1965
Eugene RitterUniversity of Virginia1949
Albert SchwarzkopfUniversity of Virginia19681

According to our current on-line database, Edward McShane has 9 students and 365 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 6151 for the advisor ID.