Geoffrey Everest Hinton


Ph.D. University of Edinburgh 1978 UnitedKingdom
Dissertation: Relaxation and its Role in Vision

Advisor: Hugh Christopher Longuet-Higgins

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

David AckleyCarnegie Mellon University1987
Peter BrownCarnegie Mellon University1987
Mark DerthickCarnegie Mellon University1988
Sidney FelsUniversity of Toronto1994
Brendan FreyUniversity of Toronto19973
Radek GrzeszczukUniversity of Toronto1998
Kevin LangCarnegie Mellon University1989
Steven NowlanCarnegie Mellon University1991
Sageev OoreUniversity of Toronto2002
Alberto PaccanaroUniversity of Toronto2002
David PlautCarnegie Mellon University1991
Carl RasmussenUniversity of Toronto19963
Brian SallansUniversity of Toronto2001
Ilya SutskeverUniversity of Toronto2013
Yee Whye TehUniversity of Toronto2003

According to our current on-line database, Geoffrey Hinton has 15 students and 21 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 50071 for the advisor ID.