Alfred (Alf) Jacobus van der Poorten


Ph.D. University of New South Wales 1968 Australia
Dissertation: Simultaneous Polynomial Approximation of Functions
Mathematics Subject Classification: 11—Number theory

Advisor 1: George Szekeres
Advisor 2: Kurt Mahler

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Deryn GriffithsMacquarie University1992
William HartMacquarie University2004
Michael HirschhornUniversity of New South Wales1980
Takao KomatsuMacquarie University1995
Roger PattersonMacquarie University2003
Xuan TranMacquarie University2001
Drew VandethMacquarie University2000

According to our current on-line database, Alfred (Alf) van der Poorten has 7 students and 7 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 30248 for the advisor ID.