John Joseph Hopfield

Ph.D. Cornell University 1958 UnitedStates
Dissertation: A Quantum-Mechanical Theory of the Contribution of Excitons to the Complex Dielectric Constant of Crystals

Advisor: Albert Warner Overhauser

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Downs, OliverPrinceton University2005
Girvin, StevenPrinceton University19774
Halperin, BertrandUniversity of California, Berkeley19657
MacKay, DavidCalifornia Institute of Technology19914
Mjolsness, EricCalifornia Institute of Technology1986
Sejnowski, TerrencePrinceton University19781
Winfree, ErikCalifornia Institute of Technology19981

According to our current on-line database, John Hopfield has 7 students and 24 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 15862 for the advisor ID.