Douglas Richard Hofstadter


Ph.D. University of Oregon 1975 UnitedStates
Dissertation: The Energy Levels of Bloch Electrons in a Magnetic Field
Mathematics Subject Classification: 70—Mechanics of particles and systems

Advisor 1: Gregory Hugh Wannier


Melanie MitchellUniversity of Michigan1990

According to our current on-line database, Douglas Hofstadter has 1 student and 1 descendant.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 136722 for the advisor ID.