W. Gilbert (William) Strang

Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles 1959 UnitedStates
Dissertation: Difference Methods for Mixed Boundary Value Problems

Advisor: Peter Karl Henrici

Click here to see the students listed in chronological order.

Alan BergerMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
Dmitri BetaneliMassachusetts Institute of Technology1998
Edmund ChristiansenMassachusetts Institute of Technology19761
Thomas ColthurstMassachusetts Institute of Technology1997
Deanne DickinsonMassachusetts Institute of Technology1966
John Doles, IIIMassachusetts Institute of Technology1969
George FannMassachusetts Institute of Technology2000
Hermann FlaschkaMassachusetts Institute of Technology197012
Michael GoldbergMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
David GorsichMassachusetts Institute of Technology2000
Pavel GreenfieldMassachusetts Institute of Technology2003
Richard HolmesMassachusetts Institute of Technology196411
Jay IsraelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1968
Xiangwei LiuMassachusetts Institute of Technology2001
Hermann MatthiesMassachusetts Institute of Technology197839
John MillerMassachusetts Institute of Technology196544
Edward PackelMassachusetts Institute of Technology1967
Per-Olof PerssonMassachusetts Institute of Technology2005
Robert RubinsteinMassachusetts Institute of Technology1972
L. Ridgway ScottMassachusetts Institute of Technology197327
Jianhong ShenMassachusetts Institute of Technology19981
Vasily StrelaMassachusetts Institute of Technology1996

According to our current on-line database, W. Gilbert Strang has 22 students and 157 descendants.
We welcome any additional information.

If you have additional information or corrections regarding this mathematician, please use the update form. To submit students of this mathematician, please use the new data form, noting this mathematician's MGP ID of 13383 for the advisor ID.